Spenti
Malaysia · English , Choose your country or region
Get the app
approadmapblogaboutsupport Get the app
← all posts

The facts about other apps come from their public listings and policies as indexed on 25 October 2026. Spotted a mistake? [email protected]

COMPARED8 min readby Spenti

Expense and receipt apps in Malaysia, compared

Malaysia has a small crop of local expense apps that read receipts, and two of them say they need no account. We compared six apps a Malaysian is likely to find, RichAuntie, Duitful, CukaiMax, ResitVault, Money Lover and Spendee, on where the AI runs, whether receipts are uploaded, accounts, offline use and price in ringgit, from their store listings, product sites and privacy policies. Where a document is silent we say "Not disclosed", which is not the same as "no".

DuitNow, TNG and the screenshot as receipt

Touch 'n Go eWallet is used by 81% of Malaysian e-wallet users and MAE by Maybank by 53% (Ipsos, 2026). DuitNow QR volume doubled to 3 billion transactions in 2025, across about 3 million QR touchpoints (NST, citing Bank Negara). A TNG reload shows up in your bank as one transfer, so the individual payments only exist on TNG's own screens, and at the mamak or hawker stall a DuitNow screenshot is often the only receipt you get.

As of 25 October 2026 · Each value links to its source · Scroll to see every app
What we compared RichAuntie Duitful CukaiMax ResitVault Money Lover Spendee Spenti
Receipts & DuitNow / e-wallet screens Yes — TNG eWallet, GrabPay, Boost, ShopeePay, DuitNow and other payment screens Receipts (amount, merchant, category) — local payment screens not disclosed Receipts and forwarded e-mail receipts for LHDN tax relief — payment screens not disclosed Tax receipts — OCR detects shop name, total and tax; payment screens not disclosed Receipts — local slips not disclosed Receipts (Premium) — local slips not disclosed Yes — paper receipts, DuitNow, TNG eWallet and bank screenshots; bank alerts on general rules
Where the AI / OCR runs Not disclosed Contradictory — site: "a privacy-focused API"; README: on-device OCR Cloud — OpenAI and Anthropic Not disclosed Not disclosed Cloud — AI models run by its processor, CLEEVIO s.r.o. On your phone by default — scanning and chat; Pro can use your own AI under your own account
Uploads & cloud storage Partly — ledger stored on the device; AI reading route not disclosed Partly — encrypted on the device; Pro syncs to your own Google Drive; scan route contradictory Sent to OpenAI and Anthropic — stored encrypted on Malaysian servers for 7 years; not used for training Partly — images in your own Google Drive; label: "does not collect any data" Partly — label: photos or videos linked to you Receipt images sent to the processor Never to Spenti — receipt text only if you connect your own AI; personal cloud backup is opt-in
Account None — no sign-up, no account None — "No account, no subscription" Not stated — plans are per user Required — Google Sign-In Required — name and email Required — sign-up needed No Spenti account
Offline use Partly — described as "offline-first"; AI reading not disclosed Yes — "Works offline" (site) Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Yes — on this phone, after the initial download
Malay interface English; Malay not listed English, Malaysia-focused English site; Malay not verified Malay listing copy Malay not listed Not verified Malay and English interface — chat on the phone in English or Thai; in Malay with your own AI (Pro)
Platforms iPhone Web PWA · Android beta · iOS coming Web iOS · Android iOS · Android · Web iOS · Android · Web iOS 16 or later
Listed prices Pro RM19.90 every 6 months (Malaysia) Free: 3 scans a month · Pro RM19.90 one-time Free: unlimited uploads, AI categories · Personal RM99/yr Free Free · Premium lifetime RM99.90 · Linked Wallet RM12.90/mo or RM104.90/yr (snapshot varies) Not read for Malaysia Free: 30 scans and 15 chat messages a month · Basic $1.99/month, Pro $4.99/month (US prices; your App Store shows the local price)

Made in Malaysia

RichAuntie (formerly Centsei) calls itself "Malaysia's private expense tracker". On iPhone, a back-tap reads Touch 'n Go eWallet, GrabPay, Boost, ShopeePay, Setel, BigPay, DuitNow QR and DuitNow Transfer screens, and "the AI reads the amount, payee and date". The listing says there is no sign-up and no account, and that the ledger is stored on the device and shared with no advertisers. It does not say where the AI reading runs, and we have not read its privacy policy yet. It is the closest app to Spenti here. Price: Pro RM19.90 every 6 months (Malaysia).

Duitful is a web app with an Android beta and iOS "coming soon". Its site promises no account, data encrypted on the device, offline use and Pro sync to your own Google Drive, and says scans go "via a privacy-focused API only when you explicitly scan". Its README instead says Tesseract OCR runs on-device. Until the two agree, we mark the AI location unknown. We found no privacy policy. Price: Free: 3 scans a month · Pro RM19.90 one-time.

CukaiMax collects receipts, including forwarded e-mail receipts, for LHDN tax relief. Its privacy policy says receipts are processed by "third-party AI services (OpenAI and Anthropic)" and not used for training, stored encrypted on Malaysian servers and kept for seven years. Price: Free: unlimited uploads, AI categories · Personal RM99/yr.

ResitVault, by Nasa Def Sdn Bhd, is also built for LHDN relief: its OCR picks out the shop name, total and tax, images go to your own Google Drive, and you sign in with Google. Its App Store listing says it "does not collect any data"; where OCR runs is not disclosed. Free.

Global apps with a Malaysian storefront

Money Lover scans receipts; its privacy policy collects name and email and syncs through an account, and does not say where receipts are read. Malay is not among its listed languages. Price: Free · Premium lifetime RM99.90 · Linked Wallet RM12.90/mo or RM104.90/yr (snapshot varies).

Spendee reads receipts with Magic AI Scan on Premium (help page); its privacy policy names its processor, CLEEVIO s.r.o., and its terms require sign-up. We did not read its Malaysian prices.

The PDPA and where your receipts go

The Personal Data Protection (Amendment) Act 2024 came into force in phases on 1 January, 1 April and 1 June 2025 (DFDL). It replaced the old whitelist of countries with a risk-based regime for transfers abroad and added a right to data portability (Mayer Brown). Those rules govern what happens once a receipt leaves your phone, as with CukaiMax's OpenAI and Anthropic processing. An app that keeps the receipt on the phone avoids the transfer altogether.

What Spenti does differently

Spenti reads paper receipts and DuitNow, TNG eWallet and bank screenshots with AI on your phone by default. There is no Spenti account and nothing goes to a Spenti server. After a one-time download of the receipt reader (about 230 MB), scanning works offline. Bank alerts become expenses on the phone too: Malaysia runs on Spenti's general rules, not rules tuned bank by bank, so check what it reads. On Pro you can choose your own AI (ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude or OpenRouter); then only the receipt text goes from the phone to that provider, under your own account.

Two limits worth knowing: chat on the phone reads English and Thai only, so asking in Malay needs your own AI (Pro); and Spenti records what a screenshot shows, it never checks that a payment arrived. The Free plan gives you 30 scans and 15 chat messages a month and never expires. More on the Malaysia page.

Frequently asked questions

Answered from the checked sources

Which expense apps read DuitNow and Touch ’n Go screenshots?

RichAuntie lists Touch ’n Go eWallet, GrabPay, Boost, ShopeePay, Setel, BigPay, DuitNow QR and DuitNow Transfer screens. Duitful, CukaiMax, ResitVault, Money Lover and Spendee document receipts but not local payment screens. Spenti reads DuitNow, TNG eWallet and bank screenshots and paper receipts on the phone by default.

Which apps need no account?

RichAuntie ("no sign-up, no account") and Duitful ("No account, no subscription") say they need none, like Spenti. ResitVault needs Google Sign-In; Money Lover and Spendee need an account; CukaiMax does not say.

Which apps send receipts to cloud AI?

CukaiMax names OpenAI and Anthropic, and Spendee its processor CLEEVIO s.r.o. RichAuntie, ResitVault and Money Lover do not say where receipts are read, and Duitful’s site and README disagree. Spenti reads on the phone by default and never sends anything to a Spenti server.

How much do they cost in ringgit?

RichAuntie: Pro RM19.90 every 6 months (Malaysia). Duitful: Free: 3 scans a month · Pro RM19.90 one-time. CukaiMax: Free: unlimited uploads, AI categories · Personal RM99/yr. Spenti: Free: 30 scans and 15 chat messages a month · Basic $1.99/month, Pro $4.99/month (US prices; your App Store shows the local price). Prices as listed on 25 October 2026.

How this was checked

Verified on 25 October 2026 from the linked documents' public extracts. Corrections to [email protected].